UNIVERSITY of HOUSTON STUDENT GOVERNMENT ASSOCIATION

Label: SGAR-60001 Date introduced: April 19th, 2023 Author(s): Senator Hoxha Sponsor(s): Senator Varughese, Senator Abel, UH Debate Committee: Student Life Draft: Final

<u>UH Debate Celebration Resolution</u>

Whereas, the City of Houston has declared the day of April 10th UH Debate Day.

Whereas, Congresswoman Shelia Jackson Lee commended Rob Glass, Dr. Ricky Garner, and the UH Debate Team for hosting CEDA, famously known as the People's Tournament.

Whereas, Congresswoman Shelia Jackson commended UH Debater Nine Abad for exemplifying the values of integrity, leadership, diligence, and hard work within our community.

Whereas, Nine Abad, Bryce Sheffield, Kiran Khan, and Sripad Yadigiri made it to the National Debate Tournament – the most selective debate tournament of all time because of exceptional debate skill and performance during the season.

Whereas, Hector Doratt and Aaron Fernandez were octo-finalists in the Open division of the CEDA National Tournament.

Whereas, Aaron Fernandez, Hector Doratt, Nine Abad, and Bryce Sheffield won the JV division of the ADA National Tournament. Whereas, Kiran Khan and Sripad Yadigiri were quarterfinalists in the Open division of the CEDA National Tournament.

Whereas, Raquel Threat and Sydney Lacer were quarterfinalists in the Novice division of the CEDA National Tournament.

Whereas, Saron Regassa and Deaunte Johnson won the Novice division of the CEDA National Tournament, marking the second consecutive year that UH has won the tournament!

Therefore, be it resolved that April 10th - April 16th will be UH Debate Appreciation Week.

Be it further resolved, the UH SGA would like to congratulate and recognize the UH Debate Team and their coaches for their commitment and dedication to academic excellence, research, and community - upholding a proud tradition since 1927!

Be it further resolved, that the UH SGA would like to thank Eric Lanning for his help at the CEDA Tournament as a UH Alum.

Injuil2i

Benjamin Rizk Student Government President Date of President's Approval: April 26th 2023

Wilson Sommen

Sophia Wilson Speaker of the Senate Date of Senate Approval: April 26th, 2023